Project

Profile

Career aspiration: artist. A film BY Berlin students who want to turn their creative gift into a profession. ABOUT former students at art/music focused Berlin high schools who currently study resp. work as artists. WITH former, current and future high-school graduates on and behind the camera. SPOILER! Non-fiction elements will be combined with scenes of a feature film by moderation to a video magazine: six to eight portraits at 2-3 minutes, completed by some 30-second-introductions as well as a feature film sequence of ca. ten minutes (total duration about 30-35 minutes).

The film will focus on short documentary films, particularly about young actors/actresses and film-makers as well as some jointly produced feature film sequences. Some scenes of a short film (ca. 30 minutes) will be shooted. The plot of this film discusses “the artist’s vocation in society” as well:

Having to shoot her application movie for the film studies, the protagonist has induced her dark-skinned lover to gatecrash her graduation party playing a “refugee”. She is trying to film the “authentic” reactions of her class mates who do not know her boyfriend and have no clue about her plan. However, she had no idea that in two hours, she will have crashed not only the party but also her own tolerance limit. (TOLLERANZIA)

We will shoot about one third of the script (ca. ten minutes of the film).

Activities

  1. Interviewing young artists of several lines of business and schools on camera;
  2. Staging and shooting self-developed feature film sequences with several of the artists portrayed;
  3. Adding moderation to, commenting on and giving further information about instruction, professional prospects, articstic positions or background information;
  4. Cutting and editing the material and publishing the result on [www.zinema.berlin] and on DVD;
  5. Publishing reports about all working steps (making of) and some previews/outtakes constantly and contemporarily on qurt. to reveal the development of the film/documentary.

Aims

Introduction of young artists to the public. Distinguishing the active participants as film-makers and give interested adolescents the possibility to work on a film set. Informing pupils, parents and teachers: There are ca. 35 public schools having a focus on art/music.

Project funding

We realize all creative accomplishments ourselves and all payments in kind / services through donations resp. cooperations. Financing of the other items: own capital (prize money), contribution of the aid association of the Kurt-Schwitters-school (“Förderverein der Kurt-Schwitters-Schule Berlin”), project funding by “Jugend-Demokratiefonds” and “Fonds Soziokultur”. We are happy that all grant applications have been approved – since the shooting, especially of the feature film, is only appropriate with semi-professional equipment for creative as well as technical reasons! In particular, we have the possibility to choose (within the bounds of the budget and the experience of the responsible crew members) and rent suitable camera technology.

Expected results

Pupils

– Encouragement of their motivation and demystification of their idealized ideas
– On-the-job experiences
– Insights in questions of job profile, occupational history and career prospects
– Networking with the community

Production

– Publication as internet stream as well as screenings at Berlin high schools
– Submission at documentary or short film festivals
– Broadcasting at the local TV-channel

Timetable

Prologue (production of the trailer/film posters)

June 25 – 29: project week / July 2, 2018: presentation

Start of preproduction

June 15, 2018

Shooting of the documentary part

July – October 2018

Shooting of the feature film

August 13 – August 18, 2018

“qurt.sfilm-Konzert” (qurt.s short film concert) at Jugendkulturzentrum Königstadt

September 14, 2018 – open for all crew members, supporters and Berlin high school students on the occasion of the new school year’s beginning!

End of postproduction

January 31, 2019

Projekt

Profil

Berufswunsch: Künstler. Filmbeiträge VON Berliner SchülerInnen, die ihre kreative Begabung zum Beruf machen wollen. ÜBER früher an kunst- und musikorientierten Berliner Gymnasien/Sekundarschulen Lernende, welche heute professionell als Künstler arbeiten bzw. studieren. MIT ehemaligen, aktuellen wie künftigen Oberschul-AbsolventInnen vor und hinter der Kamera. SPOILER! Non-Fiction-Beiträge werden mit fiktionalen Szenen durchmischt und von ModeratorInnen verknüpft zu einem Videomagazin: sechs bis acht Porträts à 2-3 Minuten, ergänzt um einige 30-Sekunden-Visitenkarten sowie eine ca. zehnminütige Spielfilmsequenz (Gesamtlänge etwa 30-35 Minuten).

Im Fokus: Kurz-Dokfilme speziell über junge SchauspielerInnen und Filmschaffende – plus einige gemeinsam produzierte Spielfilmausschnitte. Konkret sollen einzelne Szenen eines etwa 30-minütigen Kurzfilms gedreht werden, dessen Plot ebenfalls die „Berufung des Künstlers in der Gesellschaft“ thematisiert:

Die Protagonistin muss für das Filmstudium einen Bewerbungsfilm vorlegen und hat deshalb ihren dunkelhäutigen Lover veranlasst, als „Flüchtling“ in ihren Abiball zu platzen – um mit der Kamera die „authentischen“ Reaktionen ihrer MitschülerInnen zu dokumentieren, denen ihr Freund unbekannt ist und die von ihrem Plan nichts ahnen. Allerdings war ihr selbst nicht klar, dass sie zwei Stunden später nicht nur die Abschiedsparty gecrasht haben wird, sondern auch ihre eigene Toleranzgrenze. (TOLLERANZIA)

Etwa ein Drittel des Drehbuchs wollen wir szenisch erarbeiten (insgesamt ca. zehn Minuten Film).

 

Aktivitäten

  1. Interviews mit jungen KünstlerInnen mehrerer Sparten und Schulen führen und filmen;
  2. Selbst entwickelte Spielfilmszenen mit einigen der Porträtierten inszenieren und drehen;
  3. Moderationen einfügen, um Ausbildungsstationen, berufliche Perspektiven oder künstlerische Positionen der Mitwirkenden zu kommentieren und Hintergrundinformationen zu ergänzen;
  4. Aufnahmen schneiden, Sendung gestalten und auf [www.zinema.berlin] und DVD veröffentlichen;
  5. Berichte über sämtliche Arbeitsfortschritte (Making Of) und einzelne Previews/Outtakes ständig zeitnah auf qurt. publizieren, um die Entwicklungen von Film/Dokus filmisch zu dokumentieren.

 

Ziele

Junge Künstlerpersönlichkeiten öffentlich vorstellen. Aktivisten der Initiative als Filmemacher profilieren und Interessierten die Mitwirkung am Filmset bieten. SchülerInnen informieren, Eltern aufklären, Lehrern Beispiele liefern: In Berlin existieren ca. 35 staatliche Schulen mit künstlerisch-/musikalischem Schwerpunkt.

 

Projektförderung

Sämtliche künstlerische Leistungen realisieren wir selbst sowie etliche Sach- und Dienstleistungen durch Spenden bzw. Kooperationen. Finanzierung der anderen Posten: Eigenmittel (Preisgeld), Förderbeitrag vom Förderverein der Kurt-Schwitters-Schule, Projektförderung durch Jugend-Demokratiefonds und Fonds Soziokultur (s. Kosten-/Finanzierungsplan). Wir sind glücklich, dass alle Förderanträge bewilligt wurden! Denn aus künstlerischen wie technischen Gründen ist das Filmen speziell der Spielszenen nur mit semi-professionellem Equipment sinnvoll. Insbesondere können wir nun geeignete Kameratechnik mieten und diese (im Rahmen des Budgets) nach Erfahrungsstand der Crew-Verantwortlichen auswählen.

 

Erwartete Ergebnisse

SchülerInnen

– Bestärkung eigener Motivation wie Entmystifizierung idealisierter Vorstellungen
– berufspraktische Erfahrungen
– Erkenntnisse in Fragen Berufsbild, -weg und -perspektiven
– Vernetzung mit der Community

Produktion

– Bereitstellung als Internet-Stream und für Filmvorführungen an Berliner Schulen
– Einreichung bei Dokfilm- oder Kurzfilmfestival
– Sendung im lokalen TV-Kanal

 

Zeitplan

Prolog (Erstellung Trailer/Filmplakate):

25.-29. Juni Projektwoche / 2. Juli 2018 Präsentation

Beginn Preproduction:

15. Juli 2018

Dreh Dokfilmbeiträge:

Juli bis Oktober 2018

Proben Spielfilmszenen:

06.-14. August 2018

Dreh Spielfilmszenen:

15.-17. August 2018

Präsentation im Kino BABYLON: Point of PrevYou – Forum für den jüngsten deutschen Film

12. Januar 2019
Preview von Dok- und Spielfilm beim für alle Berliner SchülerInnen, StudienbewerberInnen und StudentInnen offenen qurtsfilm-Forum

Ende Postproduction:

31. Januar 2019